Workshop on Microwave Theory and Technology in Wireless Communications

4 - 6 OCT 2023 RIGA, LATVIA


Workshop on Microwave Theory and Technology in Wireless Communications 2023 MTTW’23


The Workshop on Microwave Theory and Technology in Wireless Communication (MTTW’23) ( is another continuation of a long tradition of holding communication workshops and conferences at the Riga Technical University. This year the Workshop will take place on October 4–6 and will be one of the fundamental activities of ICT fest ( and the annual celebration of the IEEE Day in Baltic states. A series of scientific events dedicated to technological progress on the edge that takes place in the very center of the city of the 13th century on the shores of the Baltic Sea creates a unique atmosphere of conjugation of times. The Workshop has traditionally been a place of scientific acquaintance and fertile soil for many scientific, academic, and industrial projects nurtured in the fields of the Workshop.

Participation in the workshop is supported by IEEE Latvia COM/MTT/AP joint chapter, IEEE Latvia section, and Riga Technical University. The Workshop is held in-person and will contain a special online session.

Registration fee

Regular participant€ 400
Regular participant (IEEE member)€ 350
PC member€ 300
PC member (IEEE member)€ 250
Student participant€ 160
Student participant (IEEE member)€ 80
Accompanying person (includes historical tour and conference dinner)€ 75
40% fee reduction on additional paper

The Workshop accepts two types of submissions:

  • 4–6 pages long IEEE-style papers. The accepted and presented papers will be added to the Proceedings of the Workshop, published in IEEE Xplore and indexed in SCOPUS and other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases.
  • Short one-page long abstracts. The authors of the accepted and presented submissions will have an opportunity to publish an extended version of the paper in the special issue of the ICT and Management journal and indexed in EBSCO and other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases.

Note that the article accepted will be published only in the case of an in-person or remote presentation.

List of Topics  

Wireless Communications

  • Communication Systems
  • Digital Signal Processing and Artificial Intelligence
  • Sensor Networks and IoT
  • Wireless System Architecture
  • Propagation Channel Modeling
  • MIMO and Multi-Antenna Communications
  • Software-Defined Radio and Cognitive Radio
  • Ad-hoc and Cell-Based Networking
  • Ultra-Wideband Communication
  • Quantum Communications
  • Chaotic Communications

Microwave Theory and Technology

  • Antenna Technologies
  • Microwave Electronics
  • Microwave Photonics
  • MM-Wave to THz Technology and Applications
  • Wireless Power Transfer and Energy Harvesting
  • Biomedical and Environmental Applications
  • Electromagnetic Field Theory and Numerical Techniques
  • 3D and Novel Engineered Materials
  • Measurement Techniques and Systems
  • Passive Components, Circuits, and Subsystems
  • Active Components, Circuits, and Subsystems

Important dates

Paper submission due:
Notification to authors:
Attendance Registration:
Camera ready due:

June 16, 2023
July 28, 2023
September 1, 2023
September 15, 2023
October 4-6, 2023


The Workshop will be held on the campus of Riga Technical University—the oldest and the largest Latvian technical university, at the Faculty of Electronics and Telecommunications. Address: Āzenes street 12, Riga, Latvia LV-1048.

Faculty of Electronics and Telecommunications, Address: Azenes street 12, Riga, Latvia LV-1048

Contact information

All questions about submissions should be e-mailed to:

Steering Committee

Organizing Committee

Anna LitvinenkoIEEE
Andrejs RomanovsIEEE
Nadezda KunicinaIEEE

International Steering Committee

Oscar Quevedo-TeruelKTH Royal Institute of Technology
Darius PlonisVilnius Gediminas Technical University
Yury ShestopalovUniversity of Gävle
Rasa BrūzgienėKaunas University of Technology
Andreas AhrensHW
Mart MinTallinn University of Technology
Andrius KatkevičiusVilnius Gediminas Technical University
Luciano TarriconeUniversity of Salento in Lecce
Dimitar ArnaudovTechnical University of Sofia
Zlatka Valkova-JarvisTechnical University of Sofia
Minh NguyenThai Nguyen University of Technology
Ingo GaspardDarmstadt University of Applied Sciences
Christoph KraußDarmstadt University of Applied Sciences